Question

[IDEA] Soundcloud Desktop Application

Userlevel 1
Hi i'm a program/application developer and i am a big Soundcloud fan since 2013.

Ever since i got introduced to SoundCloud i signed off my Spotify account and started using SoundCloud. Music helps me through my studies so i don't get distracted and instead focus.

Problem is i have to get to the web to be able to hear my music. Web browsers tend to use much RAM and my laptop i use for my studies cant handle so much.

So i started developing a Windows Application for listening to my music.
If you like the idea of a Desktop Application then i will continue on it.

Link to Beta version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36524555/SoundCloud.Desktop.zip
Stay tuned for more. - Faxity

47 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +3
Hi @Meenkentes,

Unfortunately, a desktop app is currently not something on SoundCloud's roadmap for the unforeseen future. 😕 I will pass on your feedback to our product team. There are two things that might make for a workaround, or at least an improvement of your current workflow.

1. When you're on SoundCloud.com, hit "h". This will provide an overview over all of the keyboard shortcuts you can use on SoundCloud.
  2. There might be way to turn a website into an app under Linux. I haven't tested this myself, but if it works, let the community know. 🙂
Even though this thread is quite old already, I want to restart the [idea] of this post again.

Especially, since there seems to be an official (even though it is beta it seems) Desktop app for Windows 10. I'm a little bit jealous as a Linux user. Every third party player has the problem of not having a proper "automatic" auto play for similar music. Also, customized global keybinding is nonexistent (especially customized, since some systems simply do not have multimedia keys). And also maybe a problem is the fact, that artists can prohibit their music on third party apps.