Question

Repeating Notifications

• 19 November 2015
  • 25 replies

Userlevel 2
Hello Gina and Mathis,

I am a Soundcloud Pro user having an issue where notifications I have already viewed are showing up again. For example, my notifications tray will have the orange circle and I'll expand it to find that "Goldpaw is following me." Later that day, on the same computer and in the same browser (cookies have not been cleared) I will see the same notification marked as unread that "Goldpaw is following me."

I have my login credentials saved via Soundcloud, so each time I visit the page I am logged in. These are not separate log in instances. Often times I will have a notification, view it, go to another page or track on Soundcloud, and the notification is there as though I did not view it.

Respectfully, it seems I am not the only one having this issue nor am I the only one frustrated with it. It is not related to browser cache as I have not cleared my cookies or temp internet files. It happens on the same computer/same browser/different computer/different browser it makes no difference.

I hope you can advise a solution in short order and not some canned reply that my issue will be escalated to such and such department. Literally no other site I use that offer notification features have this problem. In fact, on other websites when I view a notification on one device it will be marked as viewed across all devices. Why can't Soundcloud offer this?

25 replies

Userlevel 3
Hi Noqturnal,

This is currently a little bug within the notification system. Your notifications sit in your browser's cache, so they might sometimes reoccur due to this bug. Hopefully it'll be fixed soon. For now, if you clear your cache/cookies it might temporarily help you out, Just as long as you don't mind relogging-in to your online services and accounts after the cache gets wiped.

Sorry about that,
Andrew (Alias AM)
Userlevel 2
Hi Noqturnal,