Question

Copyright Dispute

• 4 February 2017
  • 7 replies

I uploaded a song " Alright" written and recorded by me, and it was rejected and taken down, I put in a dispute and it still was rejected.

I am the sole owner of the song and the sole owner of the label " WaterFall Records" here is the website http://www.waterfallrecordings.com

I wrote the lyrics, I played the music and I recorded it. the song is released through my label WaterFall Records and is distributed through The Orchard. I am the artist known as SweetKenny here is my website http://www.sweetkenny.com

if you need more info about me please contact me my soundcloud is https://soundcloud.com/sweetkenny

Thank you so much

Kenneth M. Sutton

This topic has been closed for comments

7 replies

Hi Kenneth,

I don't know how your music is being released, so take this information for what it is... information to explore. I also don't speak for SoundCloud... I am a fellow artist.

If you have released your music with a music distributor like CDBaby, your track may now be fingerprinted by those services. If you additionally registered your track with a performing rights service (i.e., BMI or ASCAP), this may be a double whammy to your track. Even if you don't register the track with a performance rights service, your track is still fingerprinted by CDBaby. Additionally, many audio services like SoundCloud (and especially YouTube) now subscribe to these fingerprinting services. This means that your track was likely scanned and identified as not only a commercial track through the identification service, it may have been taken down if SoundCloud is required to pay royalties on that track. I don't know how SoundCloud manages its royalties payment system, but SC likely doesn't want tracks on the service that require them to pay-for-play royalties since they don't collect money from most users on the service.