Sticky Question

I have a Copyright related question, who can I speak to?

Userlevel 3
Hello Community,

We understand you might have questions related to copyrights. At this time, copyright queries are not handled on the Help Community.

We're explaining what copyright means and how it is handled on SoundCloud on our Help Center. If you need to speak to our Copyright Team, please reach out to them directly.

Thank you for your understanding and all the best to you.

Cheers,
Mathis
This topic has been closed for comments

70 replies

Hi,

I'm a fairly new producer and having a hard time finishing my own tracks, I've been looking into remixing and bootlegs I was unaware of the copyright rules and policies. My internet isn't very good at times and I attempted to upload a bootleg or derivative work under Creative Commons liscense and it kept not finishing the upload and disappearing, in an excited rush I tried again and then one more time. I also made sure it was a private upload just in case, I later received 3 messages from SoundCloud about infringement I'm now aware of what I had done wrong. Does each upload count as a strike? Is my account going to get banned? Although I thought it was fair use and it was privately uploaded I really hope not! There are tons of bootlegs and remixes of the same track I had bootlegged how are they not being taken down for infringement? One last thing is there is obviously a way in which these people have uploaded these remixes legally how has it been achieved? Would a mechanical license cover my bootleg for non commercial use? No free download or anything just to be on my page legally and the original artist will be credited. Any help would be amazing as I'm scared about losing my account and would ideally like my bootleg available for people to listen to legally? There are loads of the same track on there definitely some official and lots of unofficial ones too..

Thanks in advance,

Ben