Question

my account was terminated

• 3 December 2015
  • 3 replies

your email section isn't working - I tried that route first but it won't send. I made this a private discussion.

My Account http://soundcloud.com/djheatherm was terminated for a mash up of Adele Hello - This was apparently my 3rd strike in the 6 years I'be been with soundcloud. Now hear me out please -

First of all, I understand you as a platform are now being hounded by major labels to comply with strict copyright laws as well as try to maintain your likeness with artists like myself and it has to be a very challenging road. I'm not denying that soundcloud is probably in a tough position.

I am an artist who has built my entire career on soundcloud - it's taken many years to get to a healthy profile of mostly original works and is the platform that has helped me launch huge gigs with artists like justin timberlake (I got to open for his concert in LA live on CW, Pitbull etc.) so many amazing things have happened for me from your platform.

I will say that until yesterday - having my account taken down, I never fully read the copyright laws on here. I honestly thought strikes were just an oops on my end and the track taken down. That fair act is a bit confusing though. I always credit originals and never make the track downloadable/ and it seems as if the covers are ok... but that doesn't matter

I am an artist who enjoys music and always buys, never cheats the system on music. I can assure you I will never post a mashup again. I really am sorry and I wish people like myself were given like a suspension for a week or 2 but not a full termination while we become accustomed to these even stricter laws. I wish there was a way to display creative material like i did with giving money to the originals.