Answered

too much activity?

  • 4 April 2015
  • 1 reply
  • 101 views

Hi. I just downloaded a load of free tracks off soundcloud. So I was forced to follow artists/labels/ect. I started unfollowing them because I didn't want my stream to be flooded. Now it says I risk having privileges taken away.

How long does this stay for?

Thanks
icon

Best answer by Mathis 7 April 2015, 14:24

Hello olfashionkill,

Thanks for writing in for further clarification. To clear up any confusion you did not hit a limit for following too many accounts, but instead for re-following the same accounts. Your block will be released in 10 minutes from now actually.

We have implemented a limit in response to the community's request to curb behavior where an account follows, unfollows and then re-follows the same account(s) again in a short period of time in order to unfairly boost their own followings.

If you were not aware that this was happening when following people from your account, do let us know. The next time it happens get in touch with us and we can investigate further.

Based on this feedback from our users, who said it was causing annoyance and confusion, we have put limits in place to restrict this behavior. Your account has been blocked from following and unfollowing for this reason. As we wish to prevent this activity in the future, if you run in to this limit repeatedly, each block you receive will increase in length.

These limits are in place to address community complaints about accounts overusing, or using features in a way other than as they were intended. We hope you can appreciate why we felt it necessary to put these limits in place.

Hope this helps to shed some light on this.
Cheers
Mathis

P.S.: It should not be necessary to follow user in order to download their track if they have downloads enabled. Did you experience this differently? What happened when you tried downloading a track from a user you didn't follow?
View original

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +3
Hello olfashionkill,

Thanks for writing in for further clarification. To clear up any confusion you did not hit a limit for following too many accounts, but instead for re-following the same accounts. Your block will be released in 10 minutes from now actually.

We have implemented a limit in response to the community's request to curb behavior where an account follows, unfollows and then re-follows the same account(s) again in a short period of time in order to unfairly boost their own followings.

If you were not aware that this was happening when following people from your account, do let us know. The next time it happens get in touch with us and we can investigate further.

Based on this feedback from our users, who said it was causing annoyance and confusion, we have put limits in place to restrict this behavior. Your account has been blocked from following and unfollowing for this reason. As we wish to prevent this activity in the future, if you run in to this limit repeatedly, each block you receive will increase in length.

These limits are in place to address community complaints about accounts overusing, or using features in a way other than as they were intended. We hope you can appreciate why we felt it necessary to put these limits in place.

Hope this helps to shed some light on this.
Cheers
Mathis

P.S.: It should not be necessary to follow user in order to download their track if they have downloads enabled. Did you experience this differently? What happened when you tried downloading a track from a user you didn't follow?

Reply