Answered

can I upload an updated track for a song I aleady have on SoundCloud?

  • 3 June 2015
  • 3 replies
  • 237 views

Uploading updated track for my orignal song already on SoundCloud.
icon

Best answer by djraveinpeace 3 June 2015, 02:29

Hi David,

Thanks for visiting the help forums :)

This is possible if you have a pro or pro unlimited soundcloud account. If so you go into the edit mode and there is an option to replace the file. Its then simply a case of uploading the new file and saving the changes. You will not lose any of the stats or comments that the track has already gained.

The below link will explain & illustrate the process in full:

http://help.soundcloud.com/customer/portal/articles/247670

If you have the regular free soundcloud account then, unfortunately, this option isn't available and you would only really have the option of deleting the original sound & then uploading the revised version. This also means that any likes, shares, play stats etc would all start from scratch on the new upload.

I hope this helps :)

Regards

DJ R.I.P
View original

3 replies

Userlevel 6
Hi David,

Thanks for visiting the help forums :)

This is possible if you have a pro or pro unlimited soundcloud account. If so you go into the edit mode and there is an option to replace the file. Its then simply a case of uploading the new file and saving the changes. You will not lose any of the stats or comments that the track has already gained.

The below link will explain & illustrate the process in full:

http://help.soundcloud.com/customer/portal/articles/247670

If you have the regular free soundcloud account then, unfortunately, this option isn't available and you would only really have the option of deleting the original sound & then uploading the revised version. This also means that any likes, shares, play stats etc would all start from scratch on the new upload.

I hope this helps :)

Regards

DJ R.I.P
This does *not* work very consistently. Here is a link to the updated song which only plays with this link. When I am logged into my account in any device, an older version plays. Very frustrating That this pro feature is so buggy. And _yes_, I waited for the upload to complete. Then saved. *after all that* I changed the name of the song. Maybe that is an issue?

https://m.soundcloud.com/austinindierecords/radar-photosphere/s-2kIk7
I can say definitively that the same issue exists with this private song as well: https://soundcloud.com/austinindierecords/zenithv03-peak/s-xVK5J

Reply