Question

Issues Replacing a File


I just upgraded to Pro to have the ability to swap out mp3s while keeping all the stats/comments/ratings.

The problem is that that specific function doesn't seem to work no matter what browser I'm on. On FF, a window pops up to select the file but it never progresses beyond 0% with a constant "Waiting for upload to complete" message.

On Chrome, the upload bar slides halfway, but immediately an error pops up saying to retry it in 30 seconds.

IE doesn't even load the edit page.

Nothing changes even after deactivating Ad-blocker or if I try with a different song/file.

Please help me resolve this issue. File replacement is the entire reason for my upgrading to a Pro account.

Thank you.

22 replies

Same issue, or skips to say 17% and then doesn't move. Annoying cause I've wasted so many miuntes deleting old files and posting new ones. Soundcloud never helped before either when I asked. Wonder why i pay for pro plan
That's disappointing to hear, Lee. I would hope they'd offer a refund if I can't get this addressed because it's the only reason I paid this morning.
Userlevel 7
Badge +3
Hi there,

Thanks for posting on the forum and reporting this. Hmm, lets see - this should actually work as expected. If it doesn't, I would like to recommend a set of basic troubleshooting steps (some of which you have done already) to make sure your system is optimized for this.

Please let us know if this helps. If not so, we'll take another look together to get this sorted.

Cheers
Mathis
Userlevel 7
Badge +2
Hi Justin,

Thank you for writing in to ask why this isn't working for you. I just replaced a file on my own account and had no problems. Normally, we start troubleshooting with browser maintenance but sounds like you already tried this by attempting the upload with multiple files and browsers and disabling you adblocker. I'd like to give it a try then with the particular file on your account. I'm going to email you with the email attached to your account to get the file from you. Give me a few minutes then look out for the email.

I hope we can get this working for you quickly!

@Lee, I'm sorry to hear you have experienced the same and that you never felt helped by us. Have you email, tweeted or posted about this before? Have you tried out browser troubleshooting or sent us a copy of the file? Let me know, I can also give your profile a test.

Thanks guys!
Gina
I also cannot replace an audio file, it is most frustrating when paying for a service! Can you help, it just says: "opps, the upload was interupted"
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.
Userlevel 7
Badge +2
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.

Hey Justin,

Curious indeed. Thanks for letting me know. Do me a favour and if you do send me files then give me a heads up here. I mostly work on the forum and don't want to miss your email!

Thanks again and glad it (sorta) works :-/

Best,
Gina
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.

Gina, I was able to replace the file I intended at home, so no email was required. I'll hold onto it for future use, though! ;-)

I have a tangential question, if you don't mind.

Due to my prior inability to replace files, I had several versions of some songs up. Some I was only saving as private because they had comments on them that I didn't want to delete.

I noticed when I switched out the file this morning, that it appeared to bring over the likes from the other (non-replaced) version. Is this correct? Does the site look through all uploads with the same name and condense likes/comments onto the new file? If so, that would be a pleasant surprise, as I was only expecting it to retain the ones for that single version.

Or am I just imagining this?
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.

Gina, I still have exactly the same problem! Can you help?
Hi Justin,

Thank you for writing in to ask why this isn't working for you. I just replaced a file on my own account and had no problems. Normally, we start troubleshooting with browser maintenance but sounds like you already tried this by attempting the upload with multiple files and browsers and disabling you adblocker. I'd like to give it a try then with the particular file on your account. I'm going to email you with the email attached to your account to get the file from you. Give me a few minutes then look out for the email.

I hope we can get this working for you quickly!

@Lee, I'm sorry to hear you have experienced the same and that you never felt helped by us. Have you email, tweeted or posted about this before? Have you tried out browser troubleshooting or sent us a copy of the file? Let me know, I can also give your profile a test.

Thanks guys!
Gina

Hi Gina, I have same problem, please can you help me?? I am wondering why I am paying for a service that doesnt work at present. Many thanks.
Userlevel 7
Badge +2
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.

@Justin, you are imagining things 😉 - glad its working for you though!

@Bolt, have you tried other browsers? cleared cache/cookies/updated flash?
hi there,
I'm having an issue with file replacement - my issue is the file appears to upload, but then does not update on the site. Does it take a while for Soundcloud to update? I've tried multiple times, cleared cache etc.
Userlevel 7
Badge +2
hi there,
I'm having an issue with file replacement - my issue is the file appears to upload, but then does not update on the site. Does it take a while for Soundcloud to update? I've tried multiple times, cleared cache etc.

Hi Subframe,

On web, this should update immediately. On mobile, we are aware that it can take some time for the track to update. Where are you having the issue?

-Gina
hi there,
I'm having an issue with file replacement - my issue is the file appears to upload, but then does not update on the site. Does it take a while for Soundcloud to update? I've tried multiple times, cleared cache etc.

Hi thanks for your response and apologies for my belated reply - the issue was resolved, i was overlooking the tags field that needs updating upon replacing a file. Many thanks!
I hope this helps with all users who are having a frustrating time in replacing an Audio file after upgrading to Pro. I wished to clear some of my outdated tracks and upgraded for the same reason. After upgrading I endeavoured to replace a file .... Nothing happened! I then read the forums and saw other frustrated users having the same issue. I tried with Firefox, IE and Chrome and all instances of tryting to replace a file were all to no avail. I had signed out of all my devices with the exception of my PC. still no joy. I had recently upgraded my PC to a 64 bit PC and I had the thought whether to try to replace a file on my older 32 bit PC. To my astonishment, I was able to replace the file with no issues. Whether Firefox has issues with 64 bit PC with configuration to acheive the replacing of a file, I have no idea. All I can say ios now that I am able to replace my files, I very glad I upgraded to pro.

I must add that whilst I was replacing a file as aforementioned, my 32 bit PC was running slow and came with a message that my 'Shockwave Pluging was busy and do I want to stop the script. I said 'YES' and it made no difference in the file being replaced and everything thereafter was 'Tickerty Boo.

I cannot say that the above is a surefire fix, but having acheived replacing a file on my older 32 bit PC and stopping 'Shockwave Plugin in Firefox' it acheived exactly what I wanted. I went on to my ipad to test and the new file was in place, with all my old counts/stats and comment. Happy Days
Hi Justin,

Thank you for writing in to ask why this isn't working for you. I just replaced a file on my own account and had no problems. Normally, we start troubleshooting with browser maintenance but sounds like you already tried this by attempting the upload with multiple files and browsers and disabling you adblocker. I'd like to give it a try then with the particular file on your account. I'm going to email you with the email attached to your account to get the file from you. Give me a few minutes then look out for the email.

I hope we can get this working for you quickly!

@Lee, I'm sorry to hear you have experienced the same and that you never felt helped by us. Have you email, tweeted or posted about this before? Have you tried out browser troubleshooting or sent us a copy of the file? Let me know, I can also give your profile a test.

Thanks guys!
Gina

Please see my post to see if my solution helps
Thanks everyone. More developments....

I went home last night and tried replacing files on my home computer (IE, FF, GC) and none of them worked, with and without ad blocker. This makes me believe it isn't a browser issue.

I tried again this morning on the home computer and it surprisingly worked when using GC. I would have played around some more, but didn't have time. Now that I'm at work, I'm running into the same issues as before.

Confounding.

Anyway, if it only works at home, I can live with that. I'll try again tonight and see what happens.

Gina, thanks for sending the email. If it isn't working at home, I will send you a couple files for replacing.

Please read my entry to see if it helps
Hi. I am having the same problem!
I tried a 32-bit system. It did not work either!
Hiya, mmm, I just thought I would share my experience, as it has worked for me on a number of a casinos now. The only other thing I could think of is disabling the shockwaves plugin in FF. I wish you success and I know it to be frustrating
just replaced files for 2 tracks, and lost comments, play, tags and description for each track, What did I do wrong? I upgraded to pro for this very reason!
I have a Pro subscription and the option is disabled on my song page.
So what's the fix? I have the same problem in Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.

Reply